Spring Break Part One: Italy
Rosy and I met nice and early on Monday morning and took a train to Eindhoven in the south of Holland. We had booked cheap flights through Ryan air..which makes use of tiny little random airports in the middle of nowhere. A bit of hassle really. Considering the effort it takes to get there, it would almost be cheaper to fly with another company out of Amsterdam. Hmm. The train ride was incredibly boring, both of us were very exhausted and ready for a holiday. We took a bus from the Eindhoven station to the airport, checked in, and had about an hour an a half to spare in this airport! So we both got some lunch and read out on the balcony. Very nice.
I loved the plane ride to Italy. It took us over the swiss alps which looked stunning from an aerial view. And once we got through the clouds that constantly hover over holland, there was blue sky and sun. I could feel the intense heat of the sun through the plane window. Funny how sun makes everything so much better! Extreme climate change, we went from cold wrap up in a jacket weather, to shorts and singlet weather.
Pisa
We flew into Pisa airport and spend a good hour discussing how much fun it would be to get a rental car and just cruise around, but after asking each rental company about prices we finally decided it was not worth it, and took a train into Pisa central. Then after working out bus timetables, we found our way to the Piazza dei Miracoli. We got some lunch in a cute little wineshop/cafe thing and here i ate the best pizza i have eaten in quite some while. We then explored the Piazza dei Miracoli, where the leaning tower of pisa stands among other buildings, green grass, markets and lots of tourists. We spent the afternoon taking cheesy touristy photos, and then lazed on the grass eating gelato icecream and soaking up the rays. I also found a stand selling fresh coconut, so i also ate some of that. (Photos - The Piazza, eating gelato, me in front of the leaning tower)


About 6pm we headed back to Pisa central, and took a train to Firenze (Florence) where we would change trains and head to Venezia. (Venice) We accidently got off one stop too early, so spent some time figuring out how to get into the centre, as well as trying to converse with some african who was asking us complicated questions in a language we didnt understand. At Florence central we got some dinner, and then spent three hours on a train to Venice. Rosy and I were split up on the train, so i tried to entertain myself by sleeping, but didnt suceed. We got into Venice just before midnight, and wandered around trying to find a bus that could take us to Fusina, where we were staying the night. Two friendly Italians tried to help us, but after about half an hour of them arguing with each other in Italian, and us trying to communicate with them, we found that the buses had stopped for the night. So we opted for the longest and most expensive taxi ride i have ever been on, and finally arrived at 'Camping Fusina' feeling very exhausted and ripped off.
Venice
Fusina is on the coast of Italy and the Island of Venice lies off the coast. The camping ground is amazing, it even has its own supermarket and a bar and restaraunt. Tuesday morning we went to the restaurant for breakfast and had some scrambled eggs. Suitably clothed in shorts and singlets and sunglasses, we then took the ferry across from Fusina to the Island of Venice. (photos - the fusina jetty, rosy and i on the ferry)

The views coming into Venice were amazing, it was exactly like i had always pictured it. The island of Venice is amazing. There are many streets and canals, and we found that its very confusing to navigate without a good map. The island is quite small, we found that it takes about half an hour to walk from one side of the island to the other. (photo - coming into venice)

We had no set plans for the day, we just wandered the streets admiring the buildings and canals, the street performers and artists, the markets and Rosy tried to pull me away from every single Venecian glass shop. I think that our favourite street performers were these two guys who played some famous concerto on wine glasses and what looked like giant glass test tubes. They were amazing, they even had a CD you could buy. Another thing i really enjoyed was seeing this convoy of gondolas going down the canal, and on one of them an opera singer was serenading everybody. (photo - opera singer on gondola)

We made our way to the Piazza San Marco, a square which sites many buildings such as the Palazzo Ducale and the San Marco Basilica, the true centres of social and political life in Venice. Crowded with tourists of course, the line to enter the Basilica went through the square and almost around the corner. I got a bit stressed out, a mixture of dehydration and claustrophobia and hunger pains. I did enter the Palazzo Ducale, after much persuasion from Rosy. The Palazzo Ducale was the centre of Venice’s political, social and economic life right from the beginning. Palazzo Ducale was the private residence or palace of the 'Doge'...im still not sure what a doge is. Apparently he had very high status, but no political power. But the building was also the home of the Government’s and the Courts’ main offices. The interior was amazing, but i was not allowed to take photos. (photo - San Marco Basilica)

We had lunch and gelato down by the wharf and explored more markets along the waterside. We then took a ferry around to the other side of the island, and then spent the rest of our afternoon getting lost while walking back through the island to where the ferry had dropped us off in the morning. Thank goodness i have some skills in backtracking. We took the ferry back to the camping ground and asked about taking a ferry to the beach the next day, but apparently it was not reccomended because the water is still too cold. We did have an amusing conversation with the guy at the camping ground, an old,talkative italian man who seemed to know alot about New Zealand..the all blacks, the kiwis, our americas cup boat....he even did an imitation of the haka for us.
Wednesday morning the weather was not the greatest. Overcast, and slightly cooler. We went for a walk around the camping ground and to the jetty, and then at the last minute decided to check out a day early and take a train to Florence, which we did! (photo - train to florence)

Florence
Florence is absolutely beautiful. Its a contrast to Venice. Alot bigger and more greener, full of lovely gardens and parks and hills surrounding the city. Very 'tuscany'. We arrived in Florence late in the afternoon and made our way to 'Camping Michelangelo', which sits on a hill just above the city. This camping ground was even cooler than the one in venice. It too was equipped with its own supermarket and outdoor bar, but instead of hiring out cabins, they have tents instead. Its like a giant tent town. We didnt do much on the Wednesday evening. It started pouring down with rain, so we just spent the evening sitting up at the bar and admiring the lights of florence at night and watching the lightening. The weather was very odd in florence. It would be really nice and hot during the day, but every night it would downpour and turn freezing cold. So you can imagine it was very hard to sleep in a tent with only one thin blanket.
On Thursday we slept in and were ready to head into the city just after 10. Our first stop was to find an internet cafe. Then we spent the rest of the day wandering around the streets seeing all the 'sights'. We went shopping at a supermarket and ate some lunch in a nice park by the rail station, only to be frightened away by Italian boys playing soccer. We did some shopping as well. Shopping in Italy is amazing...amazing shops and amazing markets! I loved the markets, i could just spend days there. One exciting thing that we did was climb up to the top of the duomo (dome tower?). This was great, let us get some exercise and we were rewarded with the most stunning views of florence from the top. On our way home we passed over the Ponte Vecchio, one of the famous bridges. Probably the most expensive area...the bridge is full of the most expensive looking jewellery shops. (photos - good times at the top of the duomo, reflections in the arno river)


On friday we spent the morning the camping ground just relaxing. We then headed back to the internet cafe to use up the rest of our credit. We then wandered around some more streets, had some lunch and headed back to the markets for some more retail therapy. On our way home we passed back over the Ponte Vecchio and then decided to walk back the long way, past the palace and up through the gardens. It started raining though, so we had to pass some time drinking hot chocolate in a cafe. The gardens were absolutely amazing, windy roads led us back to the camping ground with some amazing sights of the city as well. When we got near the camping ground, we walked even further up the hill where there was a church at the top. We entered the church and were able to listen to some very beautiful singing. For dinner we decided to go out. We went along to this Restaraunt by the Camping ground to have some pasta, only to be very dissatisfied. We got ripped off big time. The most pitiful amount of pasta and it tasted like it had been reheated! We cheered ourselves up with some more gelato icecream, and sat on the steps of the stairs and admired the lights once again. (photos - walking through gardens, view of florence from gardens)


Today i had to get up nice and early. 6am to be exact. Because i was flying back to Holland from Pisa airport at about 10.30. Rosy has stayed on in Italy, she is heading to Milan on Sunday and then is going to Barcelona, and i Will meet her later in the Week when i get to London. It has been a long day travelling. I took a bus from the camping ground to the station, then waited around for a bus that would take me to Pisa airport. Then i had to wait over an hour until i flew back to Eindhoven, then had to take a bus back to the train station, and then a train back to Utrecht! So i was very very exhausted when i got back to Utrecht, and very hungry and i just wanted to get home as fast as i could. But oh dear, I came back on the wrong day! I had to walk my bike most of the way home, pushing through crowds of people. Today is Queensday, the Dutch Queens birthday and the dutch like to celebrate. It seemed like the whole of Holland was out on the streets today, drinking and celebrating. I am finally safe and sound in my room, and i aim to just relax and unpack and have an early night. I have to get up early tomorrow morning and head to Schiphol airport because my friend Sarah Carey is coming over to stay for a few days! Im so excited!







I sat outside for a while until the sun disappeared, and attempted to tidy our backyard a bit but that didnt last long. So i made some cinnamon pinwheels and then prepared my marvellous dinner which turned out to be pork chops and veges..mm. Then Rosy came around and we watched 'Anna and the King'. I had found a whole box of videos upstairs..im not sure whos they are. Anna and the king was a great movie, the only bummer was that alot of it was spoken in thai...and there was only dutch subtitles, so we felt we missed out on a lot of important conversations. I think ill hack my way through the rest of the videos this week before i head to Italy.









